HIROSHI YOSHIMURA - GREEN - LITA192WC01-1 - Light In The Attic

Regular price $65.00

HIROSHI YOSHIMURA - GREEN - LITA192WC01-1 - Light In The Attic 

Style; Ambient


A1:    Creek Sample

A2:    Feel Sample

A3:    Sheep Sample

A4:    Sleep Sample

B1:    Green Sample

B2:    Feet Sample

B3:    Street Sample

B4:    Teevee Sample

First ever reissue of this groundbreaking ambient work !

Barely known outside of his home country during his lifetime, the late Japanese ambient music pioneer Hiroshi Yoshimura has seen his global stature rise steadily in the past few years. The 2017 reissue of his lauded debut, Music For Nine Post Cards, along with a slow building cult internet following has helped ignite a renaissance in his acclaimed body of work, much of which has never been released outside of Japan. Known for his sound design and environmental music, Yoshimura worked on a number of commissions following the 1982 release of Music For Nine Post Cards, including works for museums, galleries, public spaces, TV shows, video art, fashion shows, and even a cosmetics company.

Originally released in 1986, GREEN is one of Hiroshi Yoshimura’s most well-loved recordings and a favorite of the artist himself. Recorded over the winter of 1985-86 at Yoshimura’s home studio, the compositions unfold at an unhurried pace, a stark contrast to the busy city life of Tokyo. As Yoshimura explained in the original liner notes, the album title in the context of this body of work is not meant to be seen as a color, but is rather used to convey “the comfortable scenery of the natural cycle known as GREEN”—which perfectly encapsulates the soothing and warm sounds contained on the album, although it was created utilizing Yamaha FM synthesizers, known for their crisp digital tones.