With current COVID lockdown we're offering you; Free shipping Australia Wide for orders over $125

Chrissy - Physical Release - HOO09 - Hooversound Recordings

Regular price $60.00

Chrissy - Physical Release - HOO09 - Hooversound Recordings 

Style; House / Breaks / Techno


A1:    Lost In A Dream

A2:    The Map Point

A3:    All The True Ravers

B1:    Fantasy Pt.2 (Bolt Cutters & A Jenny)

B2:    Virgin Warehouse Location

B3:    Bust-Free Guaranteed

C1:    Feel The Spirit Move You

C2:    Rooftop Sunrise

C3:    Cuddle Puddle (Step Into My World)

D1:    Take Me Away (Again)

D2:    Lift Me Up

For Hooversound’s ninth release, SHERELLE and NAINA welcome San Francisco-based DJ and producer Chrissy to the family for the label’s debut album release. Coming out on the 27th October, ‘Physical Release’ blends elements of ravey techno, house, and jungle that have run through his previous work. The final result is an exploration of what our scene’s physical spaces mean and how they feed into themes of politics, family, connection and joy.

Speaking about the album Chrissy says,

​​"These songs were inspired by our scene's physical spaces: the warehouses, clubs, record stores, late night cafes, lofts, and friends' living rooms that let us connect to each other, experience the joy and wonder of dance music culture, and find our family.

I've seen these spaces gradually decimated by cops, property developers, cynical corporate brand partners, irresponsible promoters, and a global pandemic. The end result is a dance music culture that feels more online and disconnected, culminating in over a year without any physically shared spaces.

Encouragingly, I've seen many in our community finally acknowledge a painful reality: our scene has failed to live up to its utopian ideals, and to protect, value, and uplift all of our peers. No matter how fondly we remember our first raves, the culture was and is broken, and it's our job to fix it.

So while this album may feel like a paean to a bygone era, it is more a reflection of optimism about the future: a hope that we can rebuild our scene and our communal physical spaces with better priorities and better values, so that everybody can experience the euphoria, joy, transcendence, and physical release of the dancefloor."

The album opens with a quote from artist, author, and transgender activist Edie Fake, who also designed the artwork for ‘Physical Release’. A fellow Chicago-to-California transplant, Edie’s previous work has dealt largely with physical spaces, including historical queer nightlife spaces.